Have You Ever Given Thought To Addiction Being An Acquired Behavior?

Before going any further with this little nugget, let’s define ‘Acquired Behavior”. Acquired behavior is, the behavior of an organism resulting from the environment.

I do not believe that all addictions are acquired behavior. I do know that enough of them are acquired to give us pause about it.

Children learn what they live, so seeing a parent drinking or drugging, carves out a path that they may take. They think it’s normal because a parent, in their minds, can do no wrong.

As for myself, when I was little, I saw alcohol soothe my dad and benzos soothe my mom. By the time I was 8 years old, I was emulating both. When I was in my teens, I was convinced that this is how my dad was so successful. Remember that kids are basically ‘brain dead’ until at least age 25. They are unable to consider consequences for their actions.

Since we have already touched on addiction being a spiritual problem, I also wanted to add this tidbit of information for your consideration so that you understand it is NOT NOT NOT a disease! The ‘disease theory’ of addiction is the most laughable theory imaginable and just as empty headed as is evolution.

My advice? Take it for what it’s worth to you. DON’T be a slave to the 12 Steps CULT. It’s absolutely not designed for true Christians or sound minds.

Never stop digging deeper and deeper for your answers.

This was another (hopefully) helpful nugget from a seasoned Christian Recovery Life Coach and ATC Teacher. I am someone who has gained a solid victory over my former addiction and have been FREE since my overdose in 2008, Praise GOD. You can contact me on my contact page or website if you need help.

Leave a comment